Demand quality, not just in the products you buy, but in the life of the person who made it.

- Orsola de Castro

The Wayuu Indians from Colombia

The Wayuu are an indigenous tribe living in nothern Colombia in the region called "La Guajira", where the sea and the desert meet. Just as magical as this place are the loving Wayuu who inhabit it. They are characterized by a culture in which bags have been made by hand for years. The craftsmanship is passed down from generation to generation and gives the people the opportunity to express their creativity. Unfortunately, they often have to sell their artistic bags below value in order to provide for their families.

Daniela is one of the Wayuu women and she recognized the probelm that the people in her community were not earining fair renumeration for their traditional work. She started a business to bring fair value back to the traditional art of the Wayuu. She works with more than 50 Wayuu artisans, enabling them to earn at least twice the average market value for their bags. We buy our bags from her at fair prices and are lucky to have met  Daniela personally.


Our mission

A secure and fair income for the Wayuu Indians as well as the preservation of their traditional craftsmanship.

Our vision

A fair fashion industry in which producers are paid fairly and customers consciously support this.

How do we aim to reach these goals?

Fair Trade

We buy fair trade and ensure that Wayuu artists are paid fairly.

Donations

We donate 20% of the profits to projects that improve the Wayuu's lives.

Transparency

We transparently show you the wonderful people behind our products.


Behind the brand

Hi, I'm glad you're here and took the time to learn more about co&amor!

My name is Pia and during my studies I studied two semesters abroad in Barranquilla, a city in the northern Colombia. I immediately fell in love with the country & its people and to this day I have a close connection to Colombia. During my trips to the country, I am always amazed by the mentality of the people and their fun-loving nature.

With my start-up, I want to give the kind-hearted people in Colombia the opportunity to earn a secure income with their traditional craftsmanship and contribute to improving their living conditions with social projects.


Act as if what you are doing makes a difference. It does.

- William James

Demand quality, not just in the products you buy, but in the life of the person who made it.

- Orsola de Castro

Die Wayuu Indianer aus Kolumbien

Die Wayuu sind ein indigenes Volk, das im Norden Kolumbiens in der Region "La Guajira“ lebt, wo das Meer und die Wüste aufeinandertreffen. Genauso magisch wie dieser Ort sind auch die liebevollen Wayuu, die ihn bewohnen. Sie sind geprägt von einer Kultur, in der seit Jahren Taschen in Handarbeit hergestellt werden. Die Handwerkskunst wird von Generation zu Generation weitergegeben und schenkt den Menschen die Möglichkeit ihre Kreativität auszudrücken. Leider müssen sie ihre kunstvollen Taschen oftmals unter Wert verkaufen, um ihre Familien versorgen zu können.

Daniela ist eine der Wayuu Indianerinnen und hat diese Problematik erkannt. Sie hat ein Unternehmen gegründet, um der traditionellen Kunst aus ihrer Heimat wieder einen fairen Wert zu verleihen. Sie arbeitet mit über 50 Wayuu Künstlern zusammen und ermöglicht es ihnen mindestens das Doppelte des durchschnittlichen Marktwertes für ihre Taschen zu verdienen. Wir kaufen unsere Taschen zu fairen Preisen bei ihr ein und haben das Glück Daniela persönlich zu kennen.

Unsere Mission

Ein sicheres und faires Einkommen für die Wayuu sowie die Erhaltung ihres traditionellen Handwerks.

Unsere Vision

Eine faire Modewelt, in der Produzenten fair entlohnt werden und Kunden dies bewusst unterstützen.

Wie erreichen wir diese Ziele?

Fair Trade

Wir kaufen Fair Trade und stellen sicher, dass die Wayuu Künstler fair entlohnt werden.

Spenden

Wir spenden 20% der Gewinne an Projekte zur Verbesserung der Lebensbedingungen der Wayuu.

Transparenz

Wir zeigen euch transparent die wundervollen Menschen, die hinter den Produkten stehen.

Wer steht hinter co&amor?

Hallo, schön, dass du hier bist und dir die Zeit nimmst mehr über co&amor zu erfahren!

Mein Name ist Pia und während meines Studiums machte ich zwei Auslandssemester in Barranquilla, einer Stadt im Norden Kolumbiens. Ich verliebte mich direkt in Land & Leute und bis heute habe ich eine enge Verbindung zu Kolumbien. Während meiner Reisen in das Land bin ich stets aufs Neue von der Mentalität der Menschen und ihrer lebensfrohen Art begeistert.

Mit meinem Start-up möchte ich den herzensguten Menschen in Kolumbien die Möglichkeit geben mit ihrem traditionellen Handwerk ein sicheres Einkommen zu verdienen und dazu beitragen ihre Lebensumstände mit sozialen Projekten zu verbessern.


Act as if what you are doing makes a difference. It does.

- William James

German
German